land for building a house

laco

Hallo guys. The help from experienced expats needed! I am new in Surin and I have a chance to buy 5rai of the land about 6 km from the city (direction Prasat) and cca 250m from main road. The land is now a rice paddy. In the future I would like to build a house there. What kind of deed should I ask from the owner and what shoul I consider before buying it? The owner ask for 300thousand baht/rai. Thank you guys!

lots of things to consider are you with a Thai partner and how long have you been together? Is the land going to be leased to you or do you own a company or thirdly will you put in partners name if this is the case only put money in which you are prepared to lose or walk away from. Land purchased should have a Channoot and check to make sure no money is owed on this important paper if in doubt seek advice from a recognized English speaking lawyer. Good luck.

Good points from Ryans Resort. My own inputs for what they are worth:

Point 1. You do not have any right to buy 5 rai of land - foreigners cannot own land in Thailand.

Point 2. 300,000 BHT per rai seems to be the going price for paddy land a few kilometers outside of Surin.

Point 3. The plot in question is 250 meters from the main road - what road access would you have to the plot?

Point 4. If you decide to proceed with the purchase in your girlfriend's name, check and check again that there is a proper Chanoot and verify the Chanoot with the Land Office. Anyone who owns 'titled' land keeps the chanoot (deeds for the land) in their possession. However, around these parts (especially in the villages) too many chanoots have been put in 'hock' by the supposed owner. If the seller cannot show you the chanoot be very, very suspicious - walk away from the deal - something is not right.