Price/Value of rice farming land

A

AussieBill

Would appreciate a ball park figure for the sale value of 2 rai of rice farming land about 20km from the city and about 100 metres back from a main road. The vendor is asking 250,000 baht. Any comments or suggestion welcome.

sounds cheap not that I know much..is it near a dam? Are you a rice farmer by trade?Greetings9

40/50,000bt/rai is the going rate in the Prakhonchai village area. I would imagine a similar value some 20kms from Surin.

250,000 for 2 rai 100m. from a road is way over the odds unless there's something exceptional about it.

Thanks fellas. Obviously we are not all in agreement, but that gives me ammunition with which to barter. This would be an in-family deal which should reduce the price (notwithstanding the gorgeous Lek is married to a farang)! The 2 rai adjoins 3 rai which she would acquire free as part of a split-up of 8 rai, so that may make the purchase more worthwhile. Any further comments welcomed.

I would also think carefully about what you intend to do with it. 5 rai is not much use for rice land; fruit trees might be a better option. Or vegetables. Depends also on the labour available.

I would also think carefully about what you intend to do with it. 5 rai is not much use for rice land; fruit trees might be a better option. Or vegetables. Depends also on the labour available.

Which suggests that 5 rai might be more useful for whatever purpose than 3 rai?

Rent a place in Surin for a couple of grand a month!:smile:

Hindsights a wonderful thing isn't It.

Which suggests that 5 rai might be more useful for whatever purpose than 3 rai?