Bank Letter for Retirement Extension

W

Wombat

Well, last week I finally got my retirement extension but boy what a drama!

I probably would have been better off paying for one in Pattaya.

My main problem was the statutory declaration that I got from the Australian Embassy. In it, I declared that my monthly income was 75,000 baht but I should have declared it in Australian Dollars. They do the conversion at the immigration office, obviously I did not know this. Secondly, they also told me that the declaration should not have been filled in by handwriting. I told them that there is not a facility to type one up at the embassy and, as I am an ex cop, I had witnessed countless stat decs that were hand written. Of course, they win that argument. So, next time I will get some blank forms and type one up then take it to the embassy to be signed OR I will just go for the 800,000 baht in the bank method which brings me to my question.

As part of a negotiated agreement between immigration and myself, my extension would be granted provided I pay "a fee" and I get a bank letter, that day, proving I had what I had in the bank (520,000B). I have an account with Kasikorn in Robinson but immigration told me that the Prasat branch could do the letter so, jump in the car and drive the short distance to Prasat. Get to the bank and, yes they can do the letter as they have done many before but, no cannot do it now as both managers are out for the afternoon. So, off to Robinson we go, fortunately I had my wife with me. Get to Robinson and the staff don't know about any letter for immigration, seems they have never done one! Well the manager, who speaks English, eventually decided that he would ring around and do a bit of research and do his first letter. Well after an hours wait and 300 baht later I got the letter. Back to Kap Choeng.