Clouded Monitor

adam

Surin relic
My kids caught one of these the other day. My wife wanted to give it to the neighbours to eat, but I stopped her and it was released back into the wild (good luck to him). It was about 6 inches long apparently they can grow up to 1.5m long.

The wife tells me that just before I came home the next door neighbours caught a big one nearly 1m long and they BBQ'd it!

This is the first one I have seen in 14 years here, I also saw my first wild tarantula the other day. It is nice to see more wild life coming to our land, I just have to stop the natives eating them (Pla wanted the spider for FIL to eat!!).

Attachments

• clouded-monitor_0005a.jpg
    clouded-monitor_0005a.jpg
    67.8 KB · Views: 29
Good for you , Adam. I'm not a reptile expert and would have figured it for a gecko.
It is easy to see monitors in Lumphini Park usually wherever birds and waterfowl congregate.

Good for you , Adam. I'm not a reptile expert and would have figured it for a gecko.
It is easy to see monitors in Lumphini Park usually wherever birds and waterfowl congregate.

You would have seen the difference straight away, much bigger and different colour, long claws and big head. If there was a large adult and now a juvenile, there must be many more as the clutch is up to 20, so I'll be on the look out for more. The wife was worried as she says that they eat chicks (I'm trying to convince her that is not the case until they are big). It was funny as she first told me that it was a lizard that can kill a buffalo (meaning a Komodo Dragon). I had to explain that they only live on Komodo Island in Indonesia, then I remembered that I was on Komodo Island last month!!

Yeah, Komodos are Huuuuge !
Supposedly they won't take you down if you're not threatening by keeping a good distance off (as they're quick) and they have an easier food source (well fed).
I wouldn't want the giants walking around my house.

Glad you gave it a temporary stay of execution, Adam.