Coping with packs of dogs bothering your animals and yourself

Slip the BIB a few baht to, " Remove " them.
WIsh it were that easy, Ferret! Getting rid of aggressive mongrel dogs out where we are is like squishing ants: there are always more. The headmen (haven't seen any headwomen lately) avoid the issue, and there seems to be no sense of personal responsibility about the behavior of your animals. It's dog eat dog out here.

I have been running 5 times a week for five years now, starting before sunrise. A running Farang certainly attracts attention from dogs, depending on the weather, whether they have eaten or not... All through farming villages and hamlets and I only got bitten (nipped) once, by a bitch that had puppies. I told the owner and the bitch disappeared, as did another one this year that I complained about. If you do do stuff like this you'll feel a lot better if you get a rabies injection. What do I do? I shout a lot, always take a stick trimmed into pointy points.

I have been running 5 times a week for five years now, starting before sunrise. A running Farang certainly attracts attention from dogs, depending on the weather...

I'll betcha at that hour of the cockle-doodlee-doo you probably set off each and every dog to barking even if they're behind gates. :cool:

Welcome aboard, Cooked.
How many monks (aka Saffron robes) do you pass on their morning alms walk ?

The main problems with pepper spray are how to deliver it accurately without getting too close, and avoiding leaks onto yourself (friendly fire?). We use bear spray around here, and can buy big 12 ounce spray paint size cans at REI. I carried one around in my Jeep, and eventually it leaked, which was a mess. Any delivery suggestions other than Kerry Express? ;)