Yellow house book

ColinW

Surin relic
I am sure this has been discussed before but could GL or other knowledgeable members clarify if it is compulsory to obtain a yellow book or is it just a nice to have to facilitate things like a Thai driving licence.

I have a yellow book and believe it is a nice to have, Wood is telling a friend it is compulsory although he won't drive

I have never heard that it's compulsory. I'd hazard a guess most long term expats haven't bothered with getting one even though it's a good idea.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I am not an expert on Thai Law. However, with a 99.99% degree of confidence factor I would say that a yellow house book is not a mandatory requirement for Farangs living in Thailand. I've been here or hereabouts for the past 15 years and only got my yellow house book last year (virtually the same time as Yorky to the day). And, the only reason my wife, SWMBO, bothered to get the book was because she thought it would be less hassle in the future than obtaining a Letter of Residence from Immigration, either one or the other is required to renew your Thai Driving Licence. For those that remember, last year Immigration said they would not issue a Letter of Residence unless the Authority that required such letter wrote a letter to Immigration to request one.

It is and never has been compulsory. Personally they are a waste of time and energy to obtain. In the 8 years I have had my YTB I have never been able to us it.

It is and never has been compulsory. Personally they are a waste of time and energy to obtain. In the 8 years I have had my YTB I have never been able to us it.
The same could be said about a Letter of Residency and that is only valid for 30 days and cost 500 baht (I know, its supposed to be free). On the other hand the Yellow Book is good for your lifetime and its free!